Leaps and Bounds - How to Jump Over the Barriers to Preventing the Spread of Invasive Species

NAISMA
September 16th, 2020
Presented by Ken Donnelly, President of Beyond Attitude Consulting
 
2pm Eastern  |  1pm Central  |  12pm Mountain  |  11am Pacific

In 2018 the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources hired the consulting team of Azentive and Beyond Attitude Consulting to evaluate Aquatic Invasive Species(AIS) pathways. The work included identifying human behaviours that could reduce the spread of AIS through those pathways. An extensive literature review was conducted, and an expert panel was convened to identify and rank behaviours that could reduce the risks of AIS spread by people. Through targeted surveys and engagement with stakeholders, the factors that are important to a successful program to change behaviours in Minnesota were identified. The factors include existing attitudes and awareness about the risk of invasive species, the likelihood of adoption of preventive behaviours, barriers that may prevent some people from taking action and what might motivate them to take those actions. The results will inform the development of behaviour change programs across Minnesota.

 

RiversEdge West's

mission is to advance the restoration of riparian lands through collaboration, education, and technical assistance.

Donate