Southwest Basin Roundtable Meeting

Colorado Water Conservation Board
October 12th, 2016
Durango Library 1900 E 3rd Ave.
Durango, CO

The Southwest Basin is located in the southwest corner of Colorado and covers an area of approximately 10,169 square miles. The largest cities within the basin are Durango (pop. 15,213) and Cortez (pop. 8,328). The region also includes four ski areas: Telluride, Wolf Creek, Silverton, and Durango Mountain Resort. 

The Southwest Basin is projected to increase in municipal and industrial (M&I) water demand between 17,000 acre feet (AF) and 27,000 AF by 2050 with passive conservation included.
To learn more about the Southwest Basin, see the Basin Fact Sheet

Southwest BRT Activities and Accomplishments 

The Southwest Basin is actively working on updates to its consumptive needs assessment. The Southwest Basin has completed and approved Phase I of its nonconsumptive needs assessment (NCNA) through the creation of a map with subcategory counts by stream segment. The nonconsumptive subcategories included six different attributes of environmental and recreational items. A large portion of the streams and lakes contained at least one environmental or recreational subcategory. The Southwest Basin Roundtable completed a geodatabase incorporating both nonconsumptive and consumptive projects. The database will highlight opportunities for collaboration as well as potential conflicts related to future development of the basin’s needs. 

RiversEdge West's

mission is to advance the restoration of riparian lands through collaboration, education, and technical assistance.